Time to take the running shoes by the laces

Chapter 1

Times are changing. Life is about moving on, accepting changes and looking forward to what makes you stronger and more complete.

Running has always been a pet peeve of mine. I wouldn’t say I hated it, since that word can be applied to worse things in this world, but I have always disliked it immensely. It didn’t get any better by the fact that I had severe asthma (which has improved significantly since then),  always came last during runs (I wouldn’t even call it a run since I walked 90% of the course), was looked down upon by my classmates and didn’t get the slightest amount of understanding from my PE teacher whose life goal was to keep yelling that I needed to keep running and that I surely couldn’t be that tired already (despite of the fact that I could barely breathe and my entire body ached). No wonder I didn’t like to run, who would? The only time I ever liked running was fast track running. I was fairly good at it as well, so good at it that they wanted me to be part of a relay race competition. But, at that point my self-esteem was crumbled into pieces and I was afraid I would make a total fool out of myself, so I turned it down and gave up running for good.

Don’t get me wrong, I love the idea of running, just not running myself. I even envied those who ran like graceful gazelles. Runners always seemed like celestial creatures to me. Then suddenly… I woke up one morning and decided I didn’t want to feel like that any more. It’s about time I become the best version of myself. I’m too young to feel this old. I’m not training to be skinny, I’m training to be badass! What’s important to bear in mind is that I’m doing this for me, not for somebody else. I enjoy a challenge and this certainly will be one!

The amazing thing about running is that it can help you on so many different levels.  Running benefits your mind and your entire body.

10 benefits of running

So here we are. Being aware of how running can benefit me and my body only makes it a more obvious choice for me to put on my running shoes and head outside. Nothing will stop me now! Oh wait, that’s right…conveniently enough there’s a raging snowstorm outside right at this very moment. Oh well, once the wind has settled I will force myself outside the door and begin my journey as a runner.

Wish me the best of luck and cheers to a stronger future!

2 thoughts on “Time to take the running shoes by the laces

    • Exactly! I’ve got the most crucial gear covered. 2 ballerina flats (can’t wait until spring gets here) and 1 pair of running shoes.
      If I ever stray away from my goal, be sure to put me back on track. No mercy!

Leave a Reply

