Week 1 Day 1

First runToday I went on my first run! Well, actually it was more of a walk/run, but then again that was the entire point. I think the mistake most of us novices make is to go all in right from the very start and then almost pass out after 1-3 minutes. No wonder many of us give up and despise running for the rest of our lives.

Before starting this blog I had a look around online and I stumbled upon several beginner running schedules. The one that appealed to me the most was the C25K running program app by Zen Labs. The C25K (couch to 5K) app is designed to be easy to use. I just plug in my headphones, press start and follow the instructions. Easy as that! No need to keep track of the program myself and constantly having to look at a clock would just stress me out. I believe that app made a huge difference today. I just focused on my breathing (which is incredibly important) and went on in my own pace.

If you wait for perfect conditions, you’ll never get anything done. That’s going to be my mantra from now on. Being Sunday, I decided it was time for me put away my excuses, head out into the nature and begin my journey as a runner. Some would argue I’m insane for heading out when there’s still snow laying around. But I was also taught that “there’s nothing called bad weather, only bad clothing”. A Swedish saying which can be applied to pretty much anything, unless there’s a storm or a tornado (not that we have those over here) heading your way. Nonetheless out I went, and I didn’t regret it one bit!

The air was so fresh that my nostrils flickered. There’s nothing more relaxing and rejuvenating than heading out to the beach and the nearby golf course and forest for a walk/run.  I’ve decided that each Sunday I will head out to the trail tracks by the sea. It will be a weekly treat. Who knew that trail running could be this much fun! Having to dodge puddles, small rocks and piles a of snow felt like a small adventure.

So how did I manage? Surprisingly well. I managed to follow the 30 min program without stopping at all. I couldn’t  have felt more proud. I have an inkling sensation that my 3 months of practicing yoga/pilates have strengthened my legs, giving me more endurance than what I previously had.  I think when it comes down to it all, it’s all about finding your own pace, controlling your breathing and doing your own thing (don’t compare yourself with others). We’ll see if I continue to feel the same in the days and weeks to come…it will probably get tougher and tougher.

My next run will be on Tuesday and surprisingly enough I can’t wait! If you want to follow my running schedule I’ve created a new page at the very top of this blog called “C25K running program”, so be sure to check that out.

Until next time, take care and run with your heart!

Leave a Reply

